SEO Suisse: comment réussir son référencement multilingue

No Comments

SEO , or natural referencing , is a complex and constantly evolving field.

Positioning your web pages at the top of search engine results pages, and ideally Google , is therefore a challenge for many companies. In Switzerland, the challenge is quite different. In the country with four national languages , multilingual referencing is almost essential.

How then to properly reference a Swiss site in each of the geographical areas?

Several good practices exist, combining the three pillars of SEO: technical ( hreflang attribute in particular), semantics ( specificity of local languages ) and netlinking ( acquisition of local authority links ).

Importance of SEO in Switzerland

SEO has become an essential marketing tool to establish a company's reputation and develop its brand image. This cannot be discussed, or in any case more. Switzerland is therefore no exception to the rule. On the contrary, statistics relating to the consumption habits of the Swiss on the Internet tend to confirm or even intensify the trend in Swiss territory.

Thus, according to the Federal Statistical Office (FSO), “ more than 9 out of 10 people use the Internet in Switzerland . Almost the entire population under 55 and more than half of seniors aged 75 and over surf the web ”(2019 figures).

These particularly high figures position Switzerland slightly above European averages . Still according to the OFS, online purchases are also above the European average, a figure to correlate with the fact that, at federal level, the higher the income, the greater the use of the Internet. .

The country of four official languages

In addition to this propensity to use the Internet, Switzerland is also a unique country. The Confederation indeed has a unique linguistic landscape , with no less than four official languages:

  • German , grouped with Swiss German (62.6%),
  • French (22.9%),
  • Italian , grouped together with the Ticinese and Italo-Grisons dialects (8.2%),
  • Romansh (0.5%).

In addition, there are non-national languages , on the increase and including in particular English (5.4%), Portuguese (3.7%), Albanian (3.2%), Serbian, Croatian (2.5%), Spanish (2.4%) and other various languages (7.7%). The figures therefore clearly show that certain non-official languages are more represented than Romansh, which is nevertheless a national language. A Swiss specificity making natural referencing on Swiss soil even more complex.

Finally, and in the perspective of a global overview of the Swiss situation, we still have to take into account the specificities of local languages, which has a direct effect on the semantic approach of federal SEO . Thus, the French of Switzerland differs from the French of France ( native rather than cell phone , ninety rather than ninety ). The same goes for German which, in addition to using different and often borrowed words from French ( trottoir against Gehsteig , velo against Fahrrad , hairdresser against Frisör ) and not using the ß presents a complete Swiss counterpart: Swiss German. A set of dialects initially only spoken, Swiss German thus begins to be written, especially by the new generations.

Natural referencing in Switzerland by technology

More than any other country, Switzerland therefore offers SEO a complex linguistic package, integrated into a single country. Fortunately, several good practices allow you to come out with honors and position a site effectively on the different languages targeted by a company.

Here are the main ones.

Domain name extension and hosting

The choice of the national extension .ch , of a subdomain / sub-directory (for example by language (fr.monsite.ch or monsite.ch/fr) or rather of a .com depends above all on the target (national, international).

However, the solution consisting in opting for a subdomain or a subdirectory is particularly suitable for sites by language. In addition to clearly delineating the different versions of the site, it is a particularly effective solution, offering rapid results , without being costly for the company.

This solution does not require the hosting of the site on servers located in Switzerland either, even if, as far as possible, this is a preferred solution. On the contrary, it is strongly recommended in the case of a generic domain (.com, .org, .biz), corresponding more to companies with an international aim.

Translation

Creating a multilingual site obviously involves translating all of its content into all the target languages. However, the translation work does not stop there. It is also necessary to ensure that all the technical elements are also translated, including alt tags (images), urls ( url rewriting ), metadescriptions, etc. In the absence of metadata in the corresponding language , the crawler (the robot responsible for indexing the pages on behalf of the search engine) will be confused and may incorrectly index the pages , or even not index them.

Internal mesh

The internal mesh of a multilingual site does not differ from a monolingual site. However, the structure of the pages between them must be designed by version. It is therefore advisable not to mix the languages , under penalty of instilling confusion in the minds of both users and the algorithm.

Netlinking

Good SEO does not happen without good netlinking. In the case of a site with different languages, you should encourage links pointing from authority sites , but also from sites of the target language and countries : .ch or .com sites with French content to the French version, sites in .ch or .com with content in German into the German version, etc.

Duplicate content

Finally, and this is a particularly important element, you must at all costs avoid letting Google think that your content is duplicated. The ahreflang HTML attribute is there for that. Placed in the head of a page (header), ahreflang allows you to specify the language of the page and thus avoid duplicate content .

It is used as follows:

<link rel=”alternate” hreflang=”de” href=”https://de.monsite.ch /” />

<link rel=”alternate” hreflang=”it” href=”https://it.monsite.ch /” />

<link rel=”alternate” hreflang=”fr” href=”https://de.monsite.fr /” />

<link rel=”alternate” hreflang=”rm” href=”https://rm.monsite.ch /” />

Of course, only one of the above lines should be placed in the code of a web page , corresponding to its language.

By following these few tips, it is therefore possible to organically reference your multilingual website , even in a country as linguistically complex as Switzerland.

Specialist in growthacking and e-commerce, you will benefit from our experience to develop your contacts and your turnover in record time!

    SEOCAmp Paris 2020
    Black Hat Cycle Case Study

    How to self-finance your startup with aggressive netlinking? or the story of the launch of a platform which without branding, without social networks, without partners (marketing) and without legal notices ... generated 100,000 € with only a few web pages , good marketing and good SEO!

    Return on investment

    Did you know that google referencing is the central pillar of your communication? Undoubtedly the most profitable leverage around which your paid advertising actions should revolve.

    Free quote

    We offer professional SEO services that help websites dramatically increase their search score to compete with the highest rankings even when it comes to highly competitive keywords.

    Receive one free advice per week

    Our latest news

    View all publications
    No Comments

SEO en Suisse: comment réussir son référencement multilingue

No Comments

Le SEO, ou référencement naturel, est un domaine complexe et en constante évolution.

Positionner ses pages web tout en haut des pages de résultats des moteurs de recherche, et idéalement de Google, relève donc du défi pour bien des entreprises. En Suisse, le challenge est tout autre. Dans le pays aux quatre langues nationales, un référencement multilingue est quasiment incontournable.

Comment faire alors pour bien référencer un site suisse sur chacune des zones géographiques ?

Plusieurs bonnes pratiques existent, mêlant les trois piliers du SEO : technique (attribut hreflang notamment), sémantique (spécificité des langues locales) et netlinking (acquisition de liens locaux d’autorité).

C’est l’objet de cet article, rédigé par notre partenaire CASEO, agence SEO en Suisse.

Importance du SEO en Suisse

Le SEO est devenu un outil marketing incontournable pour asseoir la réputation d’une entreprise et développer son image de marque. Cela ne se discute pas, ou en tout cas plus. La Suisse ne fait donc pas exception à la règle. Au contraire, les statistiques relatives aux habitudes de consommation des Suisses sur Internet tendent à confirmer voire intensifier la tendance en territoire helvétique.

Ainsi, selon l’Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS), « plus de 9 personnes sur 10 utilisent internet en Suisse. La quasi-totalité de la population de moins de 55 ans et plus de la moitié des seniors de 75 ans et plus surfent sur le web » (chiffres 2019).

Ces chiffres, particulièrement hauts, positionnent la Suisse légèrement au-dessus des moyennes européennes. Toujours selon l’OFS, les achats en ligne y seraient également au-dessus de la moyenne européenne, une donnée à corréler avec le fait que, au niveau fédéral, plus les revenus sont importants, et plus l’utilisation d’Internet est grande.

Le pays aux quatre langues officielles

En plus de cette propension à utiliser Internet, la Suisse est également un pays singulier. La Confédération possède en effet un paysage linguistique unique, avec pas moins de quatre langues officielles :

  • Allemand, regroupé avec le suisse allemand (62,6%),
  • Français (22,9%),
  • Italien, regroupé avec les dialectes tessinois et italo-grison (8,2%),
  • Romanche (0,5%).

À cela viennent s’ajouter des langues non-nationales, en hausse et incluant notamment l’anglais (5,4%), le portugais (3,7%), l’albanais (3,2%), le serbe, croate (2,5%), l’espagnol (2,4%) et d’autres langues diverses (7,7%). Les chiffres montrent donc clairement que certaines langues non-officielles sont davantage représentées que le Romanche, pourtant langue nationale. Une spécificité suisse rendant un peu plus complexe encore le référencement naturel sur sol helvétique.

Enfin, et dans la perspective d’un aperçu global de la situation suisse, il nous faut encore tenir compte des spécificités des langues locales, ce qui a un effet direct sur l’approche sémantique du SEO fédéral. Ainsi, le français de Suisse diffère du français de France (natel plutôt que téléphone portable, nonante plutôt que quatre-vingt-dix). Il en va de même pour l’allemand qui, en plus d’utiliser des mots différents et souvent empruntés au français (trottoir contre Gehsteig, velo contre Fahrrad, coiffeur contre Frisör) et de ne pas utiliser le ß présente un pendant suisse complet : le suisse allemand. Ensemble de dialectes initialement seulement parlé, le suisse allemand commence ainsi à s’écrire, surtout par les nouvelles générations.

Le référencement naturel en Suisse par la technique

Plus que n’importe quel autre pays, la Suisse offre donc au SEO un ensemble linguistique complexe, intégré à un seul et même pays. Heureusement, plusieurs bonnes pratiques permettent de s’en sortir avec les honneurs et de positionner un site efficacement sur les différentes langues ciblées par une entreprise.

Voici les principales.

Extension de nom de domaine et hébergement

Le choix de l’extension nationale .ch, d’un sous-domaine/sous-répertoire (par exemple par langue (fr.monsite.ch ou monsite.ch/fr) ou plutôt d’un .com dépend avant tout de la cible visée (nationale, internationale).

Pour autant, la solution consistant à opter pour un sous-domaine ou un sous-répertoire se prête tout particulièrement aux sites par langues. En plus de clairement délimiter les différentes versions du site, elle constitue une solution particulièrement efficace, proposant des résultats rapides, sans pour autant s’avérer coûteuse pour l’entreprise.

Cette solution ne requiert pas non plus l’hébergement du site sur des serveurs situés en Suisse même si, dans la mesure du possible, il s’agit d’une solution à privilégier. Elle est au contraire vivement recommandée dans le cas d’un domaine générique (.com, .org, .biz), correspondant davantage aux entreprises ayant une visée internationale.

Traduction

Créer un site multilingue implique évidemment de traduire l’ensemble de ses contenus dans l’ensemble des langues visées. Pour autant, le travail de traduction ne s’arrête pas là. Il faut encore veiller à traduire également l’ensemble des éléments techniques, incluant les balises alt (images), les url (url rewriting), les métadescriptions, etc. En l’absence de métadonnées dans la langue correspondante, le crawler (le robot responsable de l’indexation des pages au compte du moteur de recherche) sera confus et risque de mal indexer les pages, voire de ne pas les indexer.

Maillage interne

Le maillage interne d’un site multilingue ne diffère guerre d’un site monolingue. Pour autant, la structure des pages entre elles doit être pensée par version. Il convient donc de ne pas mélanger les langues, sous peine d’installer la confusion dans l’esprit des utilisateurs comme de l’algorithme.

Netlinking

Un bon référencement ne se fait pas sans bon netlinking. Dans le cas d’un site comportant différentes langues, il faut encourager les liens pointant depuis des sites d’autorité, mais également depuis des sites de la langue et des pays ciblés : sites en .ch ou en .com avec du contenu français vers la version française, sites en .ch ou .com avec du contenu en allemand vers la version allemande, etc.

Duplicate content

Enfin, et il s’agit d’un élément particulièrement important, il faut à tout prix éviter de laisser Google penser que votre contenu est dupliqué. L’attribut HTML ahreflang est là pour ça. Placé dans le head d’une page (en-tête), ahreflang permet de spécifier la langue de la page et ainsi éviter le duplicate content.

Il s’utilise de la façon suivante :

<link rel= »alternate » hreflang= »de » href= »https://de.monsite.ch / » />

<link rel= »alternate » hreflang= »it » href= »https://it.monsite.ch / » />

<link rel= »alternate » hreflang= »fr » href= »https://de.monsite.fr / » />

<link rel= »alternate » hreflang= »rm » href= »https://rm.monsite.ch / » />

Bien entendu, une seule des lignes ci-dessus est à placer dans le code d’une page web, correspondant à sa langue.

En suivant ces quelques conseils, il est donc possible de bien référencer organiquement son site web multilingue, même dans un pays aussi complexe linguistiquement que la Suisse.

This is author biographical info, that can be used to tell more about you, your iterests, background and experience. You can change it on Admin > Users > Your Profile > Biographical Info page."

    Retour sur Investissement

    Saviez vous que le référencement google est le pilier central de votre communication ? Sans aucun doute le bras de levier le plus rentable autour duquel doivent s'articuler vos actions publicitaires payantes.

    Devis gratuit

    Nous offrons des services de référencement professionnel qui aident les sites Web à augmenter considérablement leur score de recherche afin de concourir avec les classements les plus élevés, même en ce qui concerne les mots-clés hautement compétitifs.

    More from our blog

    See all posts