Tailor-made e-commerce: Agile method for development

No Comments

Project management has long been confined to strict methods, inherited from engineering. The last decades have however seen the development of the agile method (or agile approach).

More than a method, agility offers a state of mind, an approach focusing on people, for the benefit of projects managed more efficiently and more quickly . This newly acquired flexibility benefits the customer, the development team and users alike.

So let's see what are the advantages of the agile method , especially in the context of web development .

What is an agile method?

Agility encompasses a set of piloting and project management methods . Multiple and varied, these practices are grouped together in a single approach since they have some common points:

  • Agile methods are iterative (cyclical) since they consist of short sequences, repeated as many times as necessary until the end of the project (generally once per feature developed).
  • They are also incremental since the addition of a new feature modifies (improves) the product as developed in the previous step.
  • They place more importance on individuals than on processes .
  • Agility offers an approach whose key word is flexibility . The evolution of customer needs is therefore at the heart of the process, with the aim of developing a high quality product (software, application).

A human approach

By prioritizing the project team (in the broad sense, including client, users and developers) over processes, the agile method sees project management as a human adventure with the main objective of delivering more value, more quickly . This value, far from only affecting the clients who sponsor the project through a better return on investment , also targets users ( more advanced features ), as well as the development team (better collaboration, gain of experience ).

A modern vision of project management

Agility was born out of a desire to stand out from the classic approach to project management , and in particular from the waterfall model, also called the V-cycle . As we have seen, agile methods are iterative and incremental.

On the contrary, the V-cycle is only incremental. This is one of its main limitations: with it, a digital project is built piece by piece, and a lot of time is needed before reaching a final result. The combined approach of agile methods makes it possible to break free from this straitjacket and produce a minimum viable product at each iteration (MVP, for minimum viable product ).

How are they related to web development?

Small step back. We are in the 1930s / 1940s. Walter Shewhart and William Edwards Deming, American statisticians, provide research that will give rise to work on the iterative and incremental production cycle .

In the 1950s, IT was booming. Project management as we know it today is still in its infancy. However, some of its limits are already being felt.

Based on techniques inherited from traditional engineering , computer development is struggling to advance at the speed that could be its own. These brakes then turn out not to be technological, but mainly related to human resources management .

Computer scientists then became interested in the work of Shewart and Deming and applied them to the IT sector. By taking the concepts of iteration and incrementation to their ends, they develop what will later be called an agile approach. However, it will be necessary to wait until 2001 to see their framework defined by the Agile Manifesto (or, more precisely, the Manifesto for the agile development of software ) , a short document listing 4 values and 12 principles, which defines the state of mind of the agility .

Benefits of agile methods for development

By offering much more flexibility and better communication between the different players, agile methods quickly proved their advantages for web development :

  • Each participant in the project is one of the actors ( no passive roles ) and thus plays a fundamental role,
  • The specifications lose interest and thus frees the teams from their shackles: time saving, flexibility,
  • Reactivity is much higher thanks to work based on functionalities and not on steps frozen in time and strictly quantified,
  • The prioritization of development stages according to the value and the risks they represent makes it possible to ensure the development of the most important functionalities, whatever happens during the project,
  • This also allows faster production start-up , as well as regular testing phases which ensure the quality of the product as the project progresses,
  • A fair price , since the budget is not fixed before even starting to write the code. However, the development of functionalities makes it possible to start on the basis of estimates, limiting the risks taken by customers.

Agility, an approach only intended for web development?

Born on the basis of specific needs of the IT world , agility has become essential for it. However, software, websites and other digital products are no longer the only ones to benefit from a project management facilitated by an agile method and the fields of applications are multiplying .

For example, more and more web agencies expert in natural referencing (or how to have more visibility on Google by occupying the first positions of the search engine) also apply this method of organization.

However, the profession of SEO , while having a good part of technique, does not necessarily involve development activities.

All non-software projects do not necessarily require going through an agile method which, while it is generally easy to understand and implement, can be complex to manage for the uninformed. The simplest projects where little change is expected can therefore certainly do without.

Considering more complex projects , however, understand with a part of the unknown or non-negligible risks and / or divergent interests, the agile approach is certainly the best opportunity to bring the project to completion while limiting the risks .

The hardest part then often remains to make understand the interest of the use of Scrum , XP or any other agile method to a management which is not very familiar with their specificities and not very inclined to change.

Specialist in growthacking and e-commerce, you will benefit from our experience to develop your contacts and your turnover in record time!

    SEOCAmp Paris 2020
    Black Hat Cycle Case Study

    How to self-finance your startup with aggressive netlinking? or the story of the launch of a platform which without branding, without social networks, without partners (marketing) and without legal notices ... generated 100,000 € with only a few web pages , good marketing and good SEO!

    Return on investment

    Did you know that google referencing is the central pillar of your communication? Undoubtedly the most profitable leverage around which your paid advertising actions should revolve.

    Free quote

    We offer professional SEO services that help websites dramatically increase their search score to compete with the highest rankings even when it comes to highly competitive keywords.

    Receive one free advice per week

    Our latest news

    View all publications
    No Comments

E-commerce Sur Mesure: Méthode Agile pour le développement

No Comments

La gestion de projet a pendant longtemps été cantonnée à des méthodes strictes, héritées de l’ingénierie. Les dernières décennies ont cependant vu le développement de la méthode agile (ou approche agile).

Plus qu’une méthode, l’agilité propose un état d’esprit, une approche misant sur l’humain, au profit de projets gérés plus efficacement et plus rapidement. Cette flexibilité nouvellement acquise profite tant au client, qu’à l’équipe de développement et aux utilisateurs.

Voyons donc quels sont les avantages de la méthode agile, tout particulièrement dans le cadre du développement web.

Qu’est qu’une méthode agile ?

L’agilité englobe un ensemble de méthodes de pilotage et de gestion de projet. Multiples et variées, ces pratiques sont regroupées en une seule et même approche puisqu’elles présentent quelques points communs :

  • Les méthodes agiles sont itératives (cycliques) puisqu’elles se constituent de séquences courtes, répétées autant de fois que nécessaires jusqu’à la fin du projet (généralement une fois par fonctionnalité développée).
  • Elles sont également incrémentales puisque l’ajout d’une nouvelle fonctionnalité modifie (améliore) le produit tel que développé au cours de l’étape précédente.
  • Elles accordent davantage d’importance aux individus qu’aux processus.
  • L’agilité propose une approche dont le maître mot est flexibilité. L’évolution des besoins du client est donc au cœur du processus, dans le but de développer un produit (logiciel, application) de grande qualité.

Une approche humaine

En privilégiant l’équipe du projet (au sens large, incluent client, utilisateurs et développeurs) par rapport aux processus, la méthode agile appréhende la gestion de projet comme une aventure humaine ayant comme objectif principal de délivrer plus de valeur, plus rapidement. Cette valeur, loin de ne concerner que les clients commanditaires du projet à travers un meilleur retour sur investissement, vise également les utilisateurs (fonctionnalités plus abouties), ainsi que l’équipe de développement (meilleure collaboration, gain d’expérience).

Une vision moderne de la gestion de projet

L’agilité est née d’un désir de se démarquer de l’approche classique de la gestion de projet, et tout particulièrement du modèle en cascade, également appelé cycle en V. Nous l’avons vu, les méthodes agiles sont itératives et incrémentales.

Au contraire, le cycle en V n’est qu’incrémental. C’est là l’une de ses principales limites : avec lui, un projet numérique se construit morceau par morceau, et beaucoup de temps est nécessaire avant d’arriver à un résultat final. L’approche combinée des méthodes agiles permet de se libérer de ce carcan et produire un Produit minimum viable à chaque itération (MVP, pour minimum viable product).

Comment sont-elles liées au développement web ?

Petit retour en arrière. Nous sommes dans les années 1930/1940. Walter Shewhart et William Edwards Deming, statisticiens américains, fournissent des recherches qui donneront naissance à des travaux sur le cycle de production itératif et incrémental.

Dans les années 1950, l’informatique est en plein développement. La gestion de projet telle qu’on la connaît aujourd’hui en est encore à ses balbutiements. Pourtant, certaines de ses limites se font déjà ressentir.

Basé sur des techniques héritées de l’ingénierie traditionnelle, le développement informatique peine en effet à avancer à la vitesse qui pourrait être la sienne. Ces freins s’avèrent alors ne pas être technologiques, mais principalement liés à la gestion des ressources humaines.

Des informaticiens s’intéressent alors aux travaux de Shewart et Deming et les appliquent au secteur informatique. En reprenant les concepts d’itération et d’incrémentation à leurs fins, ils développent ce qui sera plus tard qualifié d’approche agile. Il faudra pourtant attendre 2001 pour voir leur cadre définit par le Manifeste Agile (ou, plus précisément, le Manifeste pour le développement agile de logiciels), un court document listant 4 valeurs et 12 principes, qui définit l’état d’esprit de l’agilité.

Avantages des méthodes agiles pour le développement

En proposant beaucoup plus de flexibilité et une meilleure communication entre les différents acteurs, les méthodes agiles ont rapidement prouvé leurs avantages pour le développement web :

  • Chaque participant au projet en est l’un des acteurs (pas de rôles passifs) et joue ainsi un rôle fondamental,
  • Le cahier des charges perd de l’intérêt et libère ainsi les équipes de son carcan : gain de temps, en flexibilité,
  • La réactivité est bien supérieure grâce à un travail sur la base de fonctionnalités et non d’étapes figées dans le temps et strictement chiffrées,
  • La priorisation des étapes de développement selon la valeur et les risques qu’elles représentent permettent de s’assurer du développement des fonctionnalités les plus importantes, quoi qu’il arrive en cours de projet,
  • Cela permet également une mise en production plus rapide, ainsi que des phases de test régulières qui permettent de s’assurer de la qualité du produit au fur et à mesure de l’avancée du projet,
  • Un prix juste, puisque le budget n’est pas fixé avant même de commencer à rédiger le code. Pour autant, l’élaboration des fonctionnalités permet de partir sur la base d’estimations, limitant les risques pris par les clients.

L’agilité, une approche seulement destinée au développement web ?

Née sur la base de besoins spécifiques au monde informatique, l’agilité lui est devenue incontournable. Pour autant, les logiciels, sites web et autres produits numériques ne sont plus les seuls à profiter d’une gestion de projet facilitée par une méthode agile et les domaines d’applications se multiplient.

Par exemple, de plus en plus d’agences web expertes en référencement naturel (ou comment avoir plus de visibilité sur Google en occupant les premières positions du moteur de recherche) appliquent aussi cette méthode d’organisation.

Pourtant, le métier du SEO, tout en ayant une bonne part de technique, n’implique pas obligatoirement des activités de développement.

Tous les projets non-logiciels ne requièrent pas forcément un passage par une méthode agile qui, si elle est généralement simple à comprendre et implémenter, peut s’avérer complexe à gérer pour le non-averti. Les projets les plus simples où peu de changements sont à prévoir peuvent donc certainement s’en passer.

Considérant des projets plus complexes cependant, comprenez avec une part d’inconnu ou de risques non-négligeable et/ou des intérêts divergents, l’approche agile constitue certainement la meilleure opportunité de mener le projet à son terme tout en limitant les risques.

Le plus dur reste alors souvent à faire comprendre l’intérêt de l’utilisation de Scrum, XP ou toute autre méthode agile à un management peu coutumier de leurs spécificités et peu enclin au changement.

This is author biographical info, that can be used to tell more about you, your iterests, background and experience. You can change it on Admin > Users > Your Profile > Biographical Info page."

    Retour sur Investissement

    Saviez vous que le référencement google est le pilier central de votre communication ? Sans aucun doute le bras de levier le plus rentable autour duquel doivent s'articuler vos actions publicitaires payantes.

    Devis gratuit

    Nous offrons des services de référencement professionnel qui aident les sites Web à augmenter considérablement leur score de recherche afin de concourir avec les classements les plus élevés, même en ce qui concerne les mots-clés hautement compétitifs.

    More from our blog

    See all posts